Skip to main content


The National Curriculum sets out the spelling rules which are to be taught.  

These are split into two parts for Keystage 2:

Year 3 and 4 and

Year 5 and 6.  

In addition, the National Curriculum provides a further list of spellings to be learnt during these years.  These are can be downloaded below for your reference.

Year 3 and 4

File icon: pdf Year 3 and 4 word list [pdf 108KB] Click to download

Year 5 and 6

File icon: pdf Year 5 and 6 word list [pdf 115KB] Click to download